schroth method - any details please?

Here you can ask and talk (in English or German) about scoliosis treatment in Germany.
Antworten
caros

schroth method - any details please?

Beitrag von caros »

Hello. This is my first time on this website - I hope you can help me.

I am 37 with a cobb angle of 30 degrees. Here in England there seems to be very little to help me so I am reseaching a way forward as I am in considerable pain with my back. I have been reading up on the Schroth method and it does seem to be a possibility for me. I know that there is a clinic recently opened in the Uk but there do seem to be some doubts about it. From my reading it would seem that Germany is the place to be!
So, please could anyone give me any information about the course of treatment. How long does it take (the UK one is 4 weeks or 2x2 weeks), how much does it cost, is there accomodation - and for families - I have a 2yr old boy. And anything else - for example are there any personal experiences out there?

Thanks for your time!
tesia

Beitrag von tesia »

Hello caros,

I would also recommend you go to Germany and avoid the UK clinic like the plague. Im not surprised you have heard doubts about it. My 16 year old daughter did a course of therapy there and hated it, she had a truly miserable experience and felt bullied by the staff. It turns out that her curve has increased even in the few months since she went there, even though she did the exercises carefully every day. She has kept in touch with other people she met at the clinic and they are all unhappy with the results too. We are now looking at taking her to the German clinic though my daughters surgeon is putting her in a brace, with her curve increasing we cant afford to mess about.

Good luck with your treatment, I hope you find something to help you.
BZebra
Profi
Profi

Beitrag von BZebra »

The Schroth method alone can only prevent progression in very small curves or within patients who are nearly fully grown.